Album Info

Country, Bluegrass, Progressive Bluegrass, Contemporary Bluegrass

Album Review

J.D. Crowe & the New South were perhaps the finest purveyors of bluegrass in the '70s, and this live recording from 1979 documents all their glory. Lead vocalist Keith Whitley is in fine form throughout, but the band really shakes the rafters when J.D. Crowe lets loose with his lightning banjo work. Highlights include a lovely "Don't Give Your Heart to a Rambler" and a bluegrass version of Chuck Berry's "Memphis". This is traditional music expertly executed.
Tim Sheridan, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. She's Gone, Gone, Gone
  2. Don't Give Your Heart to a Rambler
  3. Shuckin' the Corn
  4. Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain
  5. Railroad Lady
  6. Sugar Coated Lady
  7. Memphis Madolin
  8. Rose Colored Glasses
  9. Red Rocking Chair
  10. Martha White Theme
  11. Ballad of Jed Clampett
  12. Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  13. My Window Faces the South
  14. I'm Walkin'
purchase full album