Album Info

January 31, 2006
Highnote Records, Inc.
Vocal Music, Standards, Vocal Jazz

Album Review

The irrepressible Ernie Andrews continues his late-career renaissance with How About Me. Produced by saxophonist Houston Person, Andrews fronts a quintet with Person, guitarist Terry Evans, pianist and arranger Phil Wright, Richard Simon on bass, and Frank Wilson on drums. The material ranges from all over the place, but most comes from the 1940s and '50s. Andrews is in fine form on cuts like the Eddie Lane and John Jacob Loeb classic "Boulevard of Memories," Leonard Feather's fine jump blues, "She's Got the Blues for Sale," and the Duke Ellington nugget "It Shouldn't Happen to a Dream." The title cut is one of Andrews' finest performances in recent years -- with his version of the Irving Berlin masterpiece "How About Me." This is a solid date form start to finish.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. She's Got the Blues for Sale
  2. It's Monday Everyday
  3. Boulevard of Memories
  4. It Shouldn't Happen to a Dream
  5. The Wildest Gal in Town
  6. This Is Always
  7. I've Got to Pass Your House to Get to My House
  8. How About Me?
  9. The More I See You
  10. River's Invitation
  11. Vacation from the Blues