Album Info

February 24, 2004
Country Stars
Country, Traditional Country, Western Swing, Gospel, Honky Tonk, Country Gospel

Album Review

With his warm, assuring vocals, Red Foley brought class to a country genre that at times was too ragged and reckless for its own good in the 1930s and '40s, and if he didn't stretch boundaries, he didn't really need to, and ended up landing some 41 songs on the country charts between 1944 and 1959. This set has most of the key tracks from his Decca years (1944-1951), including 1944's "Smoke on the Water," 1947's "New Jolie Blonde," and 1948's "Tennessee Saturday Night" (although he was born in Kentucky, Foley may have set a record for most songs recorded about the state of Tennessee), although it lacks his signature song, "Chattanooga Shoe Shine Boy," from 1950, and 1951's surprise gospel hit "(There'll Be) Peace in the Valley."
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Smoke on the Water
  2. There's a Blue Star Shining Bright
  3. Hang Your Head in Shame
  4. I'll Never Let You Worry My Mind
  5. Shame on You
  6. At Mail Call Today
  7. Harriet
  8. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
  9. That's How Much I Love You
  10. New Jolie Blonde
  11. Freight Train Boogie
  12. Never Trust a Woman
  13. Blues in My Heart
  14. Tennessee Saturday Night
  15. Old Shep
  16. Candy Kisses
  17. Tennessee Border
  18. Tennessee Polka
  19. Sunday Down in Tennessee
  20. Tennessee Border, No. 2
  21. When God Dips His Love in My Heart
  22. Don't Be Ashamed of Your Age
  23. Goodnight Irene
  24. I Gotta Have My Baby Back
  25. Careless Kisses