Album Info

Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Heavy Metal, British Metal

Album Review

In the good ol' U.S. of A., the British metallic power trio Budgie were never more than a cult attraction -- actually best known for their songs being covered by other bands. But the group always seemed to have a stronghold in Texas, which served as the site for a 2002 live album, Life in San Antonio. For many years by this point, singer/bassist Burke Shelley was the lone original member left in attendance -- joined on this night (August 2, 2002, to be exact) by guitarist Andy Hart and drummer Steve Williams. Highlights include two nearly eight-minute medleys of Budgie classics -- "In for the Kill"/"Rape of the Locks"/"Guts" and the set-closing "Breadfan"/"Nude Disintegrating Parachutist Woman" -- as well as another early nugget, "Zoom Club." Sadly, the greatest song title in the history of recorded music, "Hot as a Docker's Armpit," was not performed on this fateful evening. No matter -- Shelley's unmistakable banshee wail has never sounded sweeter, and the boys in the band can still churn out Sabbathy metallic slabs with the greatest of ease.
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Crime Against the World
  2. Melt the Ice Away
  3. Gunslinger
  4. Panzer Division Destroyed
  5. I Turned to Stone
  6. Black Velvet Stallion
  7. In for the Kill/Rape of the Locks/Guts
  8. Breaking All the House Rules
  9. Zoom Club
  10. Napoleon Bona Pts. 1 and 2
  11. Wildfire
  12. Breadfan/Nude Disintegrating Parachutist Woman