Album Info

RELEASE
January 13, 1964
LABEL
Columbia
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Political Folk, Folk-Rock, Psychedelic, Folk Revival, Contemporary Folk

Album Review

If The Times They Are a-Changin' isn't a marked step forward from The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan, even if it is his first collection of all originals, it's nevertheless a fine collection all the same. It isn't as rich as Freewheelin', and Dylan has tempered his sense of humor considerably, choosing to concentrate on social protests in the style of "Blowin' in the Wind." With the title track, he wrote an anthem that nearly equaled that song, and "With God on Our Side" and "Only a Pawn in Their Game" are nearly as good, while "Ballad of Hollis Brown" and "The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll" are remarkably skilled re-castings of contemporary tales of injustice. His absurdity is missed, but he makes up for it with the wonderful "One Too Many Mornings" and "Boots of Spanish Leather," two lovely classics. If there are a couple of songs that don't achieve the level of the aforementioned songs, that speaks more to the quality of those songs than the weakness of the remainder of the record. And that's also true of the album itself -- yes, it pales next to its predecessor, but it's terrific by any other standard.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Times They Are A-Changin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-times-they-are-a-changin/id159476281?i=159476284&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Ballad of Hollis Brownhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ballad-of-hollis-brown/id159476281?i=159476295&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. With God on Our Sidehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/with-god-on-our-side/id159476281?i=159476322&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. One Too Many Morningshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/one-too-many-mornings/id159476281?i=159476329&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. North Country Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/north-country-blues/id159476281?i=159476337&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Only a Pawn in Their Gamehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/only-a-pawn-in-their-game/id159476281?i=159476405&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Boots of Spanish Leatherhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/boots-of-spanish-leather/id159476281?i=159476471&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. When the Ship Comes Inhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/when-the-ship-comes-in/id159476281?i=159476473&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carrollhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-lonesome-death-hattie-carroll/id159476281?i=159476477&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Restless Farewellhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/restless-farewell/id159476281?i=159476531&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album