Album Info

Vocal Music, Traditional Pop, Vocal Jazz

Album Review

Nat King Cole Sings for Two in Love was Nat King Cole's first album made specifically for the new 12" LP format. Like Frank Sinatra, with whom he shared a record company and a conductor, Cole made a thematic album with Sings for Two in Love, in this case a set of 12 romantic ballads. But they aren't actually all for "two in love." There are songs for two who think "This Can't Be Love" or that it's "Almost Like Being in Love," or who tell each other "Let's Fall in Love." And then there are post-love songs -- "Autumn Leaves" and "Dinner for One Please, James." If Cole really is singing for "two in love," he's giving them good news and bad. Of course, his plaintive, undisturbed singing makes the happy and sad sentiments seem equally content, and Nelson Riddle's orchestrations consistently support the singer without challenging him or getting in his way.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Love Is Here to Stay
  2. A Handful of Stars
  3. This Can't Be Love
  4. A Little Street Where Old Friends Meet
  5. Autumn Leaves
  6. Let's Fall in Love
  7. There Goes My Heart
  8. Dinner for One Please, James
  9. Almost Like Being in Love
  10. Tenderly
  11. You Stepped Out of a Dream
  12. There Will Never Be Another You
  13. Too Much
  14. A Thousand Thoughts of You
  15. If You Said No