Album Info

October 23, 2001
Country, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Contemporary Country

Album Review

The grand dame of country music delivers a potent greatest-hits album -- her third -- and her 27th album overall. She had 31 huge hits from which to choose that hadn't previously appeared on her first two greatest-hits albums. Longtime producer Tony Brown and manager/husband Narvel Blackstock chose 12 of those 31 goodies and mixed in three newbies worthy of praise, including the old Kenny Rogers tune "Sweet Music Man," produced by Alison "Make It Sound Pure" Krauss. Among the old 1990s favorites are "And Still," "She Thinks His Name Was John," "Fear of Being Alone," and "Why Haven't I Heard From You." Time and again the reigning diva of Music City just keeps hitting them out of the park -- about as effortlessly as Barry Bonds at PacBell Stadium.
Maria Konicki Dinoia, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I'm a Survivor [#]
  2. Forever Love
  3. The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter
  4. And Still
  5. If You See Him, If You See Her
  6. The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia
  7. Fallin' out of Love
  8. The Heart Won't Lie
  9. Take It Back
  10. She Thinks His Name Was John
  11. The Fear of Being Alone
  12. Why Haven't I Heard from You
  13. One Honest Heart
  14. Myself Without You [#]
  15. Sweet Music Man [#]
purchase full album