Album Info

January 25, 2000
Ruff Ryders
Rap, East Coast Rap

Album Review

The LOX's highly publicized and drawn-out defection from Puffy's Bad Boy Records to DMX's Ruff Ryder camp was imperative. Not only because Puffy's glossy sound openly clashed with the group's thug mentality, but the change of scenery also furnished Jadakiss, Sheek, and Styles with an opportunity to assert their own identity. While the LOX as a unit do not offer much in terms of topical dexterity, Jadakiss is one the industry's most underappreciated lyricists, which he clearly reiterates on his solo cut "Blood Pressure." Ruff Ryders in-house producer Swizz Beatz handles most of the production duties, and although his syncopated production can become repetitious, DJ Premier ("Recognize") and Timbaland ("Ryde or Die Bitch," featuring Eve and Drag-On) provide some much-needed diversity with their signature sounds. The rowdy lead single, "Wild Out," is an obvious reworking of Jay-Z's "Jigga My Nigga," but it was a hit on rap radio. [The clean version edits moments of profanity and cuts the particularly profane tracks from the album.]
Matt Conaway, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Can I Live
  2. Breathe Easy
  3. Felony Niggas
  4. Wild Out
  5. Blood Pressure
  6. Recognize
  7. Y'all ****** up Now
  8. Scream L.O.X.
  9. U Told Me
  10. Ryde or Die
  11. Bring It On
  12. If You Know
  13. We Are the Streets