Album Info

The Right Stuff
Rhythm & Blues, Pop-Soul, Philly Soul, Soul

Album Review

The O'Jays' vocals are stellar throughout this lively eight-song collection. Political and social lyrics weigh heavy but don't overburden this set. "Darlin' Darlin' Baby" is a killer midtempo love romp with equally effective leads by Eddie Levert and Walter Williams. "Paradise" was overlooked, with Walter Williams doing his falsetto "doo dah"s on the breaks and the trio spitting out Gamble & Huff's lyrics at breakneck speed. "Make a Joyful Noise" finds Levert wailing like a Baptist preacher on a song that's more gospel than R&B; the title track is a typical message song made extraordinary by a great production and sensational vocals. The harmonies on "I Swear I Love No One But You" will blow you away. Another good slice of soul from the Canton, OH, natives.
Andrew Hamilton, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Message in Our Music
  2. A Prayer
  3. Paradise
  4. Make a Joyful Noise
  5. Desire Me
  6. Darlin' Darlin' Baby (Sweet Tender Love)
  7. I Swear, I Love No-One But You
  8. Let Life Flow
purchase full album