Album Info

January 04, 2000
Doobie Shea Records
Country, Gospel, Bluegrass, Contemporary Bluegrass, Bluegrass-Gospel

Album Review

The debut album by Mountain Heart showed this group to be remarkably mature already -- though perhaps that shouldn't be so remarkable, given that three of its members had already served apprenticeships as members of Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver. The band's sound is rooted in traditional bluegrass but significantly informed by modern influences, generally (though not always) for the better. Vocally, Mountain Heart does an excellent job of sanding down the rougher edges of traditional bluegrass without sacrificing its raw power -- on the rollicking "Katie Cline" banjoist Barry Abernathy and guitarist Steve Gulley harmonize with a perfect blend of vinegar and sugar, and the modal Jack Tottle composition "Cold Winds" comes off sounding like a good update of Bill Monroe. But "Bitter Harvest" is a touch on the maudlin side, and even fans of bluegrass-gospel might find that "Patching It Up" makes their teeth hurt. Overall, though, this album can be recommended with confidence to fans of traditional and modern bluegrass alike.
Rick Anderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. You Still Call Me Baby
  2. Cold Winds
  3. It's the Love
  4. Roses
  5. Taney County
  6. Cold Kentucky Rain
  7. Katy Cline
  8. Bitter Harvest
  9. Gambler's Lament
  10. Midnight Train
  11. Patching It Up