Album Info

March 17, 1999
One Way Records
Pop/Rock, Psychedelic, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Folk-Rock

Album Review

At a time when bands like the Byrds and the Jefferson Airplane were trying to find a balance between folk, rock, blues, country, and psychedelia, the Youngbloods cut a masterpiece of a debut that made it all look easy. The melodies poured out, and the members' relaxed, laid-back approach to playing across the genres, from blues to country to folk, gave the music an accessibility that was extraordinary. The group is often compared to the Lovin' Spoonful, but the playing and singing, and just about everything else about this album, have a degree of spontaneity that was usually lacking in the Spoonful's work -- a lot like comparing the Band to the Beatles. The tracks off of Elephant Mountain are more laid-back and smoother, and seemed more of an achievement at the time, although they come off as less ambitious in this setting. Those cuts were as polished as the group got, and marked their artistic high point, but some of their luster may dim in close proximity to the excitement on the experimentation of the debut album's tracks.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Grizzly Bear
  2. All over the World (La-La)
  3. Statesboro Blues
  4. Get Together
  5. One Note Man
  6. The Other Side of This Life
  7. Tears Are Falling
  8. Four in the Morning
  9. Foolin' Around (The Waltz)
  10. Ain't That Lovin' You, Baby
  11. C.C. Rider
  12. Darkness, Darkness
  13. Smug
  14. On Sir Francis Drake
  15. Sunlight
  16. Double Sunlight
  17. Beautiful
  18. Turn It Over
  19. Rain Song (Don't Let the Rain Bring You Down)
  20. Trillium
  21. Quicksand
  22. Black Mountain Breakdown
  23. Sham
  24. Ride the Wind