Album Info

February 06, 1967
Pop/Rock, Psychedelic, Folk-Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, AM Pop

Album Review

Younger Than Yesterday was somewhat overlooked at the time of its release during an intensely competitive era that found the Byrds on a commercial downslide. Time, however, has shown it to be the most durable of the Byrds' albums, with the exception of Mr. Tambourine Man. David Crosby, Roger McGuinn, and especially Chris Hillman come into their own as songwriters on an eclectic but focused set blending folk-rock, psychedelia, and early country-rock. The sardonic "So You Want to Be a Rock & Roll Star" was a terrific single; "My Back Pages," also a small hit, was the last of their classic Dylan covers; "Thoughts and Words," the flower-power anthem "Renaissance Fair," "Have You Seen Her Face," and the bluegrass-tinged "Time Between" are all among their best songs. The jazzy "Everybody's Been Burned" may be Crosby's best composition, although his "Mind Gardens" is one of his most excessive.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. So You Want to Be a Rock 'N' Roll Star
  2. So You Want to Be a Rock "N" Roll Star
  3. Have You Seen Her Face
  4. C.T.A. - 102
  5. Have You Seen Her Face
  6. C.T.A.-102
  7. Renaissance Fair
  8. Time Between
  9. Everybody's Been Burned
  10. Renaissance Fair
  11. Thoughts and Words
  12. Time Between
  13. Mind Gardens
  14. Everybody's Been Burned
  15. Thoughts and Words
  16. My Back Pages
  17. The Girl with No Name
  18. Mind Gardens
  19. My Back Pages
  20. Why
  21. The Girl With No Name
  22. Why
  23. It Happens Each Day [*]
  24. Don't Make Waves [stereo mix][*]
  25. My Back Pages [Alternate Version][#][*]
  26. Mind Gardens [Alternate Version][#][*]
  27. Lady Friend [stereo mix][*]
  28. Old John Robertson [Single Version][*]
purchase full album