Album Info

May 14, 1991
Rap, Gangsta Rap, Hardcore Rap, West Coast Rap, Golden Age

Album Review

One of gangsta rap's defining albums, O.G. Original Gangster is a sprawling masterpiece that stands far and away as Ice-T's finest hour. Taken track by track, O.G. might not seem at first like the product of a unified vision; perspective-wise, it's all over the map. There's perceptive social analysis, chilling violence, psychological storytelling, hair-trigger rage, pleas for solutions to ghetto misery, cautionary morality tales, and cheerfully crude humor in the depictions of sex and defenses of street language. But with a few listens, it's possible to assimilate everything into a complex, detailed portrait of Ice-T's South Central L.A. roots -- the album's contradictions reflect the complexities of real life. That's why the more intelligent, nuanced material isn't negated by the violence and sexism -- both of which, incidentally, are held relatively in check, with the former having been reshaped into a terrifying but inescapable fact of life. That isn't to say that O.G. Original Gangster is designed to appeal to delicate intellectual sensibilities; it's still full of raw, street-level aggression that makes no apologies or concessions. That goes for the music as well as the lyrics. The beats are a little too hard-driving and jittery to really breathe like funk, which only adds to the dark, claustrophobic feel of the production. Ice smoothly keeps up with the music's furious pace and also debuts his soon-to-be-notorious metal band Body Count on one track. That kind of artistic ambition is all over the album, whether in the lean musical attack or the urgent rhymes. O.G. Original Gangster is a certifiable gangsta rap classic, and arguably the most realistic, unvarnished representation of a world Ice-T was the first to chronicle on record.
Steve Huey, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Home of the Bodybag
  2. First Impression
  3. Ziplock
  4. Mic Contract
  5. Mind over Matter
  6. New Jack Hustler
  7. Ed
  8. Bitches 2
  9. Straight Up Nigga
  10. O.G. Original Gangster
  11. The House
  12. Evil E-What About Sex?
  13. Fly By
  14. Midnight
  15. Fried Chicken
  16. M.V.P.s
  17. Lifestyles of the Rich and Infamous
  18. Body Count
  19. Prepared to Die
  20. Escape from the Killing Fields
  21. Street Killer
  22. Pulse of the Rhyme
  23. The Tower
  24. Ya Shoulda Killed Me Last Year