Album Info

June 17, 1997
Country, Country-Rock, Progressive Country, Contemporary Country, New Traditionalist, Outlaw Country, Traditional Country, Honky Tonk, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Americana

Album Review

Another budget compilation in MCA's Hip-O line, this brings together 14 hard-stompin' favorites from country music's elite. Kicking off with Hank Williams, Jr.'s anthemic "Born to Boogie," the twang is turned up to full blast on Steve Earle's "Guitar Town" and the Mavericks' "All You Ever Do Is Bring Me Down." Tracks include two number one hits, the aforementioned Hank Jr. hit and Mark Chesnutt's "It's a Little Too Late" and Top Ten favorites from Marty Stuart ("Honky Tonk Crowd"), Waylon Jennings ("Honky Tonk Heroes"), George Jones ("Honky Tonk Song") and the Iguanas' "My Girlfriend Is a Waitress." The Cajun quotient in country music is also represented here with Jo-El Sonnier's "All American Saturday Night" and Joe Ely's roadhouse rendition of Hank Sr.'s "Honky Tonkin'." Selections from Lee Roy Parnell ("Oughta Be a Law"), Marty Brown ("Don't Worry Baby'), Delbert McClinton ("Before You Accuse Me") and Pirates of the Mississippi ("Honky Tonk Blues") complete the collection.
Cub Koda, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Born to Boogie
  2. Guitar Town
  3. All You Ever Do Is Bring Me Down
  4. Honky Tonk Crowd
  5. Oughta Be a Law
  6. It's a Little Too Late
  7. All American Saturday Night
  8. Honky Tonkin'
  9. My Girlfriend Is a Waitress
  10. Honky Tonk Blues
  11. Don't Worry Baby
  12. Honky Tonk Song
  13. Before You Accuse Me
  14. Honky Tonk Heroes