Album Info

August 14, 2012
MCA Nashville
Country, Traditional Country, Honky Tonk, Bakersfield Sound, Western Swing Revival

Album Review

The 2012 release Icon rounds up 11 songs Merle Haggard recorded for MCA in the late '70s and early '80s -- a period that sometimes gets overlooked between his seminal early stint at Capitol and his later successes at Epic. Unfairly so, as he had several terrific songs during this time, many of which are featured here on this affordable compilation. Highlights include two of his classic drinking songs, "I Think I'll Just Stay Here and Drink" and "Misery and Gin," a live version of "Rainbow Stew," "I'm Always on a Mountain When I Fall," and "From Graceland to the Promised Land." Not all of his greatest sides for MCA are here, but enough are to make this a good representative sampler.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. If We're Not Back in Love by Monday
  2. From Graceland to the Promised Land
  3. It's Been a Great Afternoon
  4. Rainbow Stew [Live]
  5. I'm Always on a Mountain When I Fall
  6. Ramblin' Fever
  7. Misery and Gin
  8. The Running Kind [Live]
  9. Red Bandana
  10. The Way I Am
  11. I Think I'll Just Stay Here and Drink