Album Info

January 28, 1997
Pop/Rock, American Trad Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Post-Grunge

Album Review

Cravin' Melon was founded in 1993 by Clemson University classmates and disbanded with a concert in May, 2001. The Southern roots-rock band released Red Clay Harvest in 1997 on Mercury Records. By that time, radio and the buying public had tired of their Hootie and the Blowfish-style pop music. (When Cravin' Melon lost their original drummer, Gary Greene of Hootie filled in for a tour.) The songs on Red Clay Harvest are all well written. Highlights include the upbeat rockers "Come Undone" and "Sweet Tea." The album was produced by Don Smith (Cracker and John Hiatt). The ballad "Post Office" sounds like it could have been written for Darius Rucker and has many of the qualities that made Hootie a smash: soaring melodies, impassioned vocals, and a wistfull sensibility. Cravin' Melon is similar musically to the Pat McGee Band and Sister Hazel. Red Clay Harvest is perhaps the band's most polished and cohesive record. Consider this album a reminder of mid-late 1990s rock by 1998's "South Carolina Band of the Year."
JT Griffith, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Come Undone
  2. Sweet Tea
  3. Pretend
  4. Post Office
  5. Hey Sister
  6. Simple Man
  7. Nobody's Prize
  8. Can't Find My Way
  9. Joda
  10. Come a Day
  11. Blossom
  12. Faithless Me
purchase full album