Album Info

February 14, 2012
Revolver USA
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Post-Punk

Album Review

The Black Session was recorded approximately 34 years after Pink Flag debuted, but original members Colin Newman, Graham Lewis, and Robert Grey (joined by touring guitarist Matthew Simms) are still a tightly wound unit, and oddly enough, this is a much better indication of their prowess on-stage than mid-career outings like Document and Eyewitness and It's Beginning to and Back Again. Taken from a 2011 performance for the French radio show C'est Lenoir at Maison de Radio, this recording concentrates on pop-oriented material, mainly from 2010's Red Barked Tree. Otherwise, there are three late-'80s numbers (from Ideal Copy and A Bell Is a Cup…Until It Is Struck), and three late-'70s landmarks (from 154 and Pink Flag). Fans of the oldies are treated to an enthusiastic ten-minute encore of "Pink Flag" for sticking it out, and even when Wire focuses on their not-so-classic material, they sound great in a live environment.
Jason Lymangrover, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Adapt
  2. Comet
  3. Smash
  4. Please Take
  5. Kidney Bingos
  6. Clay
  7. Map Ref. 41ºN 93ºW
  8. Moreover
  9. Two People in a Room
  10. Down to This
  11. Drill
  12. Red Barked Tree
  13. Pink Flag
purchase full album