Album Info

November 07, 1995
Pop/Rock, Alternative Country-Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Folk, Alternative Folk

Album Review

Victoria Williams' first international tour as a headliner -- supporting her 1994 release Loose -- yielded This Moment: In Toronto With the Loose Band, her first concert recording. Williams (guitar/vocals) is supported by a six-piece band centering around the Williams Brothers (no relation to Victoria), David (vocals) and Andrew (guitar), as well as Tim Ray (keyboards) -- all of whom had participated in the creation of Loose. Joining them are neo-folk session heavyweights Joey Burns (bass/vocals) and David Mansfield (violin/dobro/pedal steel guitar/mandolin). As an ensemble, they animate choice selections from Victoria's previous studio efforts -- Happy Come Home (1987) and Swing the Statue(1990) -- with an emphasis on material from Loose. As a songwriter, Victoria Williams conjures exquisite images weaved around an ethereal folk/jazz delivery -- which is more often than not also saturated in down-home psychedelia, examples of which abound throughout This Moment. Primary among them is "Graveyard," which was renamed "Blackbirds Rise" on her follow-up studio release Musings of a Creek Dipper (1998), as well as the achingly beautiful reading of the Jimmy Van Heusen/Johnny Burke pop standard "Imagination." The undemanding and comfortably intimate environs that Williams create during performance are punctuated by the spontaneous on-stage arrival of her traveling companion and puppy, Molly -- inspiring Victoria to ad-lib "Oh its good to have a dog. It's good to see their smile. It's good to have your arms around 'em when it's been a long while" -- during the opening to what develops into a rousing "Crazy Mary." Another endearing moment catches Victoria interacting with the audience and spontaneously performing requests -- most notably "TC." Although accompanied by her own solo piano, she lovingly re-creates Van Dyke Parks' breathtaking string arrangements. This Moment is a precious and rare gift from a flower to her audience.
Lindsay Planer, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. This Moment
  2. Graveyard
  3. Harry Went to Heaven
  4. Waterfall
  5. Polish Those Shoes
  6. TC
  7. Frying Pan
  8. Hitchhikers Smile
  9. Crazy Mary
  10. Lights
  11. Summer of Drugs
  12. Imagination
  13. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
  14. Can't Cry Hard Enough
  15. Sunshine Country
  16. Love
purchase full album