Album Info

October 18, 1994
JDC Records
Pop/Rock, Synth Pop, Punk/New Wave

Album Review

Soundtrack work suits Thomas Dolby, who here turns in a variety of musical settings for a computer animation video that include everything from moody electronic instrumentals and dance tracks to a '30s pop pastiche complete with horn section ("Nuvague"). Five of the nine tracks have vocals, two of which are contributed by Dr. Fiorella Terenzi. Dolby himself sings, raps, and even murmurs Napoleon's words of love to Josephine. As a nonvisual listening experience, it all seems scattered, but The Gate to the Mind's Eye demonstrates Dolby's continuing inventiveness.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Armageddon
  2. Planet of Lost Souls
  3. Big Bang Backwards
  4. N.E.O.
  5. The Ascent of Man: Iceflow/Harpmonic/The Power of Dreams/The Ancients/C
  6. Valley of the Mind's Eye
  7. Nuvogue
  8. Quantum Mechanic
  9. Moon Base
purchase full album