Album Info

October 19, 1993
Rhythm & Blues, Contemporary R&B, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Adult Contemporary R&B, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter

Album Review

Me'shell NdegéOcello's debut album twists and turns through so many genres -- R&B, pop, jazz, hip-hop -- that it's hard to put a finger on just where she wants to take its 13 songs. That she also spins conventional racial and sexual identity here makes Plantation Lullabies an occasionally overwhelming -- as well as a vibrantly sophisticated -- listen. NdegéOcello defies labels throughout, tagging her slinking and crawling songs with a rubbery flow that's just as rooted in '70s funky soul as it is in '90s hip-hop culture. The best songs here -- "If That's Your Boyfriend (He Wasn't Last Night)," "Dred Loc," and "Outside Your Door" -- work their way into their grooves with a seamless, and almost uniform, bounce. It can be a bit derivative (for all of NdegéOcello's genre crossing, she always seems to go back to the same musical blueprint), but most of the time it's just about as boundary-busting and as affecting as '90s R&B gets.
Michael Gallucci, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Plantation Lullabies
  2. I'm Diggin' You (Like an Old Soul Record)
  3. If That's Your Boyfriend (He Wasn't Last Night)
  4. Shoot'n up and Gett'n High
  5. Dred Loc
  6. [Untitled]
  7. Step into the Projects
  8. Soul on Ice
  9. Call Me
  10. Outside Your Door
  11. Picture Show
  12. Sweet Love
  13. Two Lonely Hearts (On the Subway)
purchase full album