Album Info

August 02, 1992
Vocal Music, West Coast Blues, Regional Blues, Standards, Vocal Jazz

Album Review

Ernie Andrews was one of the last of the Kansas City-style singers remaining in the 1990s, even though he was born in Philadelphia, raised in Louisiana and caught on as a performer while in Los Angeles. In the latter city, Andrews first hooked up with Jay McShann (who did make his fame in Kansas City); although the singer has had an up-and-down career, he has been known in jazz since the late 1940s. Andrews' Muse records find him in fine form. For this CD, he is assisted by tenor saxophonist Houston Person, guitarist Jimmy Ponder, pianist Junior Mance, bassist Ray Drummond and drummer Michael Carvin. A few familiar standards (including Duke Ellington's "Don't You Know I Care," "You Call It Madness" and "When Did You Leave Heaven") alternate with some lesser-known material, including "When They Ask About You," Percy Mayfield's "The Hunt Is On," and "Sweet Slumber." A fine all-around outing.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. When They Ask About You
  2. Don't You Know I Care (Or Don't You Care to Know)
  3. I'll Never Be Free
  4. You Call It Madness (But I Call It Love)
  5. The Hunt Is On
  6. Until the Real Thing Comes Along
  7. When Did You Leave Heaven?
  8. Sweet Lorraine
  9. Sweet Slumber
  10. The Great City [*]