Album Info

May 25, 2010
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Arena Rock, Punk/New Wave, Album Rock, Hard Rock, New Wave, Power Pop

Album Review

Sony’s budget-priced 2010 box Music of Cheap Trick offers three discs and 40 tracks of highlights from the band’s Epic recordings, balancing hits with alternate takes and album tracks. Since this isn’t exactly targeted at collectors, the variety comes across as a bit scattershot -- it’s unclear just exactly why an alternate live version of “Ballad of TV Violence” is here, or the extra bridge version of “If You Want My Love” -- and it errs a little bit toward the side of being even-handed, so there are more mid-‘80s cuts than perhaps there should be, but as a reasonably priced sampler, Music of Cheap Trick certainly does offer up quite a bit of good music.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Elo Kiddies
  2. Hot Love
  3. He's a Whore
  4. Mandocello
  5. The Ballad of TV Violence (I'm Not the Only Boy) [Alternate Take][Live]
  6. You're All Talk [Alternate Take][Live]
  7. Clock Strikes Ten
  8. Southern Girls
  9. Downed
  10. Big Eyes [Live]
  11. Surrender
  12. High Roller [Alternate Take]
  13. Auf Wiedersehen
  14. Heaven Tonight
  15. I Want You to Want Me [Live]
  16. Ain't That a Shame [Live]
  17. Takin' Me Back
  18. Dream Police
  19. Voices
  20. Way of the World
  21. Need Your Love [Live]
  22. Stop This Game
  23. Just Got Back
  24. World's Greatest Lover
  25. Everything Works If You Let It [Full Version] [Version]
  26. She's Tight
  27. If You Want My Love [Alternate Extra Bridge Version] [Alternate Take][V
  28. Next Position Please
  29. I Can't Take It
  30. Tonight It's You
  31. Cover Girl
  32. This Time Around
  33. The Flame
  34. Don't Be Cruel
  35. Never Had a Lot to Lose
  36. Had to Make You Mine
  37. I Can't Understand It
  38. Can't Stop Falling into Love
  39. Busted
  40. Walk Away
  41. Day Tripper [Live Unedited Version] [Live][Version]