Album Info

Jazz, Hard Bop, Post-Bop

Album Review

On drummer Tony Reedus' second recording as a leader he joins forces with tenor saxophonist/flautist Gary Thomas, vibraphonist Steve Nelson, and bassist Dave Holland to perform one $Reedus) original, one jazz classic, a hard swinging version of Thelonius Monk's "Green Chimneys," two standards, and four jazz compositions written by musicians whom Reedus has worked with. Reedus, who was introduced to jazz by his uncle, pianist James Williams, plays with a relaxed, flowing style with ride cymbal and off-beat accents reminiscent of Jack DeJohnette. Thomas' rough hewn tenor and delicate flute contrast nicely with Nelson's vibes while Holland's huge tone and harmonic imagination uplifts any session he is on. Other favorites include the beautiful title track, written by pianist Jonny King, featuring Thomas on flute; (&"Probin'," an up-tempo burner written by Williams; Holland's "Lazy Snake," a slow funky number; and the standard "Bye Bye Blackbird," performed as an energetic duet by Reedus and Thomas). This is one of 1991's best releases, and a welcome addition to the Reedus discography.
Greg Turner, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. House Call
  2. Incognito
  3. Green Chimneys
  4. For Heaven's Sake
  5. Probin'
  6. Dreams
  7. Lazy Snake
  8. Bye Bye Blackbird
purchase full album