Album Info

October 28, 2008
MCA Nashville
Country, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Contemporary Country

Album Review

Only three years after the 35-track, two-disc compilation Reba #1's, Reba McEntire presents a slightly more generous examination of her successful recordings with the three-disc 50 Greatest Hits. But despite being longer, it actually covers less ground chronologically, adding only one new hit since 2004, "Because of You," a duet with Kelly Clarkson, and lopping off the first eight years of McEntire's career. She started out with Mercury Records (which, like MCA, is now an imprint of Universal, its catalog readily available to the compilers), which built her up to the point of scoring two consecutive number-one hits, "Can't Even Get the Blues" and "You're the First Time I've Thought About Leaving," in 1983. Neither of those tracks is counted among her "50 greatest hits" here; instead, the collection starts with her first MCA chart-topper, "How Blue," from 1984-1985. From there, things progress chronologically over more than two decades, with each hit presented in the order it marched up the Billboard country singles chart. Along the way, a few editorial adjustments are made, at least below the level of Top Five hits. Left out are "Little Girl" (which reached number seven in 1990) and "They Asked About You" (number seven in 1994), while, for instance, "She Thinks His Name Was John" (number 15 in 1994), "Starting Over Again" (number 19 in 1996), and "What If It's You" (number 15 in 1997) are included. Otherwise, however, the album lives up to its title, and in its sheer bulk, it makes a case for McEntire's song choices, which, in addition to proving hits year after year, also enabled her to portray and describe a variety of modern women struggling to get by, sometimes being cheated on, sometimes doing the cheating themselves, but always trying to reconcile love with life's travails.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. How Blue
  2. Somebody Should Leave
  3. Have I Got a Deal for You
  4. Only in My Mind
  5. Whoever's in New England
  6. Little Rock
  7. What Am I Gonna Do About You
  8. Let the Music Lift You Up
  9. One Promise Too Late
  10. The Last One to Know
  11. Love Will Find Its Way to You
  12. Sunday Kind of Love
  13. I Know How He Feels
  14. New Fool at an Old Game
  15. Cathy's Clown
  16. 'Til Love Comes Again
  17. Walk On
  18. You Lie
  19. Rumor Has It
  20. Fancy
  21. Fallin' out of Love
  22. For My Broken Heart
  23. Is There Life out There
  24. The Night the Lights Went out in Georgia
  25. The Greatest Man I Never Knew
  26. Take It Back
  27. The Heart Won't Lie
  28. It's Your Call
  29. Does He Love You
  30. Why Haven't I Heard from You
  31. She Thinks His Name Was John
  32. Till You Love Me
  33. The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter
  34. And Still
  35. Ring on Her Finger, Time on Her Hands
  36. Starting Over Again
  37. The Fear of Being Alone
  38. How Was I to Know
  39. I'd Rather Ride Around with You
  40. What If It's You
  41. If You See Him, If You See Her
  42. Forever Love
  43. Wrong Night
  44. One Honest Heart
  45. What Do You Say
  46. I'll Be
  47. I'm a Survivor
  48. Somebody
  49. He Gets That from Me
  50. Because of You
purchase full album