Album Info

November 18, 1980
Blues, West Coast Blues, Regional Blues, Bop

Album Review

Ernie Andrews' first album since 1966 makes one wonder why he was neglected for so long. He uplifts such tunes as "On Broadway," "I Cover the Waterfront" and "Do I Worry" and is in prime form throughout. The well-rounded set also has some lesser-known material with Andrews backed by Llew Mathews' arrangements for the Los Angeles-based players; among the sidemen are trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison, the reeds of Herman Riley, Red Holloway and Buddy Collette and guitarist Kenny Burrell. A fine LP that unfortunately has not yet been reissued on CD.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Again
  2. Do I Worry?
  3. If You Could See Me Now
  4. Don't Let the Sun Catch You Cryin'
  5. I Cover the Waterfront
  6. On Broadway
  7. One in a Million